Sulfite Question

Forums CIDERCHAT Sulfite Question

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  john tobin 2 years, 10 months ago.

• Author

Garrett Zielinski
    Participant

Hello All. I’m fairly new to cider making and have some questions around adding sulfite after fermentation. I’d like to make a batch without adding sulfite/sorbate. How long would this be ok before going bad? What would be the max specific gravity to minimize gas build-up? If there are addl’ sugars remaining, would the type of yeast play a role in if it will continue to ferment after bottling?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Jeff Wala
    Participant

I’ve never used sulfite. I’ve found homemade cider is too tasty and popular to get ~20 gallons to last more than an year, and at that point it is holding it’s own if not getting better. I’m not sure what your SG question is, i just let the carboys sit until the end of fall, at which point they are within a couple 1000ths of 1.000. My saison yeast batch did ferment out more sugar in the bottles than the lager or hefewiesen yeasts.

The only problem i’ve had is my pear cider came off with a strong sulfur aroma, but the taste is good. I’ve been told pear is notorious for this, but next time i will use a beer yeast on it as this was a wine yeast and all of my apple cider with beer yeasts has turned out well. No need for the extra attenuation power of a wine yeast with the sugar content in straight cider.

Garrett Zielinski
    Participant

Thanks Jeff. That is very helpful info.

I have a batch going right now and this is the first time i used ale yeast. i used cider yeast previously and those went to sg = 1.002 in about a week or so. This current batch has been going for ~ 2weeks and seems to have stopped fermenting and the sg = 1.010. i really like the flavor and would like to bottle without adding anything else. would this be ok, or is there the possibility that it will ferment more in the bottle?

john tobin